Bittersweet Thankgiving


Today we gather with friends and family and are urged to reflect on all that we are thankful for. Some have it easy, though many may struggle to do this due to the hard times that they face in todays economic state. Additionally, being thankful may also make some realize how unfortunate others are and thus make this holiday bittersweet. That is how I feel about Thanksgiving-bittersweet. Thankful for all that I have, like my twin boys, my family, a roof over my head, and food in our bellies. Yet, I am bitter about the poverty status we live in, all that we don’t have and need, and resentful about my own feelings as even though we are struggling, there are thousands in the USA and abroad, in even greater despair. I am saddened that I am in no position to help anyone anywhere, annoyed at those who can but don’t, and disappointed in much. On the other hand I am greatly thankful that some are able and do help others. I am thankful for the programs that help many like myself sustain some stability like foodshare and medical assistance. I am thankful for all that comes my way, the good and the bad, as without these, I would not be who I am and would not be the same at heart. So- no matter how great or how low your position may be-remember to be thankful for what you do have, it could be worse and that it can get better.

